EU Suspends Facilitated Visa Regime with Russia

Home / World / EU Suspends Facilitated Visa Regime with Russia
Russian citizens will be able to travel to the European Union only under the general rules of the visa code. EU Council on Friday, September 9, decided to fully suspend the visa facilitation agreement between the EU and Russia. From now on common rules of visa code will apply to Russians. This was reported by the press service of the EU Council. “This will entail an increase in the visa fee from €35 to €80, the need to present additional documentary evidence, an increase in visa processing time and more restrictive rules for the issuance of multiple-entry visas,” it said. The decision takes effect on September 12, 2022. “With its unprovoked and unjustified war of aggression, including its indiscriminate attacks against civilians, Russia has broken this trust and trampled on the fundamental values of our international community,” said Czech Interior Minister Vit Rakusan. According to him, this decision is a “direct consequence of the actions of Russia” and proof of the EU’s “unwavering commitment” to Ukraine and its people. Recall that Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia agreed to significantly limit border crossing for Russian citizens with Schengen visas. It should be noted that after long discussions, the EU did not dare to completely ban Russians from entering and agreed to suspend a facilitated visa regime.