Russia Has Limited Air Traffic to More than 140 Countries Due to Coronavirus

Home / News / Russia Has Limited Air Traffic to More than 140 Countries Due to Coronavirus
Russia amid the COVID-19 pandemic, retains flights from Moscow only to the capitals or large cities of 146 countries and territories, as well as charters for the removal of Russians from abroad or for sending foreigners to their homeland. From Monday, March 23, Russia temporarily limited air traffic with 146 countries and territories in light of the spread of the SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus. Only regular flights from Moscow to the capitals or major cities of foreign countries will be retained, a list of which is published on the website of the Federal Air Transport Agency (Rosaviation). In addition, airlines can make charter flights to these countries to send their citizens to their homeland or to carry Russians home. Russia has previously restricted air traffic with China, South Korea, Iran, Norway and Switzerland, as well as EU countries. The International Air Transport Association (IATA) in early March worsened its forecast for the impact of the pandemic on the industry. In 2020, airline revenue may decline by at least 63 billion US dollars (in terms of 55.5 billion euros), IATA experts admit. SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus, which causes COVID-19 pulmonary disease, has spread to more than 190 countries and territories since the outbreak in China at the end of 2019. According to official data, in Russia, as of March 22, 367 people have been diagnosed a dangerous pathogen. One of the patients, whose infection was confirmed, died, however, doctors called the blood clot the cause of death.