US Closes Five Military Bases in Afghanistan

Home / News / US Closes Five Military Bases in Afghanistan
The United States closed five military bases in Afghanistan as part of a peace agreement between Washington and the radical Taliban movement (banned in the Russian Federation). This was announced on Tuesday by U.S. official to TOLOnews. According to him, US bases were closed in Helmand, Uruzgan, Paktika and Laghman provinces. On February 29, a peace agreement was signed between United States and the Taliban in Doha. According to the agreements, inter-Afghan consultations were to begin on March 10. It was stipulated that by the time of their launch, as part of confidence-building measures, up to 5 thousand movement supporters and up to a thousand people held by radicals should be released.